Pineapple and passion fruit cultivation zones to be established in Moneragala tomorrow

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The Ministry of Agriculture has decided to establish pineapple and passionfruit cultivation zones in Moneragala under the accelerated agriculture development program, “We Grow – We Eat”, implemented under the guidance of the Minister of Agriculture Mahinda Amaraweera to establish specific crop zones.

The agriculture zones will be established under the World Bank assisted Agricultural Modernization Project implemented by the Agriculture Ministry.

Under the first stage, 37 acres in Medagama, Mallagama will be used to establish the pineapple cultivation zone and 37 acres in Buttala, Pelawatta for the passion fruit cultivation zone.

These lands will be given to 74 farmers, one acre each and the Agriculture Ministry will provide all the facilities they need.

Pineapple and passion fruit saplings, water sprinklers, water pumps, plastic containers, GI pipes and wire will be provided free of charge.

The work on these two zones will commence tomorrow (13th) under the patronage of the Agriculture Minister Mahinda Amaraweera at Monaragala.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *