Saman Rathnapriya declared as a MP of 8th parliement

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The National Election Commission issuing an Extraordinary Gazette notification has declared Weligodage Saman Rathnapriya Silva, elected as a member of the Eighth Parliament to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of parliamentarian Jayampathi Wickramaratne.

United National Party 9UNP) national list parliamentarian Jayampathi Wickramaratne resigned from his post due to personal reasons on 20th January.

Following Wickramaratne’s resignation, the National Elections Commission has asked the UNP to nominate an eligible person to fill the vacant post.

General Secretary of the UNP, MP Akila Viraj Kariyawasam informed the Election Commission on last Thursday that the UNP will nominate civil society activist and trade union leader Saman Ratnapriya for the vacancy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × five =