Trump signs executive order to limit refugees into the US

US President Donald Trump signs executive order to limit refugees into the country which, bans Syrian refugees until further notice and temporarily suspending immigration from several predominantly Muslim countries. Those countries are Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen.

It also put a cap of 50,000 refugees entering the US in 2017 – less than half the previous upper limit.

In a TV interview broadcast on Friday, Trump ordered that Christians and others from minority religions be granted priority over Muslims.

The executive order suspends the entry of refugees into the US for 120 days and directs officials to determine additional screening to ensure that those approved for refugee admission do not pose a threat to the national security and welfare of the US.

Trump signed the executive order at the Pentagon after a ceremony to swear in General James Mattis as Defence Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *