President presents environmental excellence awards

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The Environmental Pioneer President Medal Awarding Ceremony was held under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the President House,Yesterday (13).

With the aim of creating an environmentally friendly future generation the Central Environmental Authority in collaboration with the Ministry of Education implemented the National Environmental Pioneers Programmes in schools.

Forty pioneers representing 16 schools in nine districts of the country received their Presidential Medals from President Sirisena at this medal awarding ceremony.

The teachers who showed outstanding talents were appreciated and the school were also felicitated.

Tangalle Balika Vidyalaya in Hambantota received an Award of Excellence from the President for creating 73 presidential medalists,which is the highest number of presidential medalists emerged from a school during the period of 2001-2016 and the Udabadalawa Sudarshana Maha Vidyalaya in Kurunegala also received an Award of Excellence from President for producing second highest number of presidential medalists.

Deputy Minister Mahaweli Development & Environment Anuradha Jayarathne, Secretary to the Ministry of Mahaweli Development & Environment Anura Dissanayaka, Chairman of the Central Environmental Authority Prof. Lal Mervin Darmasiri and many others participated on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *