Seventieth anniversary: Special Parliamentary session today

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Today (3rd Oct.) is a historic day for the country as it celebrates 70 years of establishing parliament democracy and there will be a special parliamentary session today, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya said.
The session will commence at 2.30 pm where President Maithripala Sirisena, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan as well as the leaders of recognized political parties will address the house.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya will deliver the vote of thanks.

Speakers and Deputy Speakers of parliaments of all SAARC countries as well as representatives of foreign countries will participate on this occasion.

After the special session signing of the guests’ book as well as issuing a commemorative stamp will also take place.

Issuing a press release, the Speaker said that at a time of celebrating the 70th anniversary, the Parliament has decided to overcome the challenges faced as a nation with courage.

With an uninterrupted record of democratic rule, Sri Lanka has the oldest parliament in the SAARC region whose representatives are appointed by universal franchise, the Speaker said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *