New Committee on SAITM


Media Release

The Committee appointed by His Excellency President Maithripala Sirisena and headed by the Hon. Harsha de Silva, Deputy Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs, to resolve the current issues related to the South Asia Institute of Technology and Medicine (SAITM) has made reasonable and acceptable recommendations. Various parties have suggested that further discussions should be held in this regard to enter into a further discussion regarding this matter to raise these recommendations to a higher level acceptable to all the students of the medical faculties of universities, lecturers of the universities, parents of the medical students as well as all the other relevant parties.

His Excellency the President has decided to appoint a new Committee comprising of all the relevant parties, to implement recommendations made by the previous Committee, and to provide solutions if there are any issues which are not addressed by the previous recommendations.

During a meeting held on Friday 3rd November 2017, between the His Excellency the President and the relevant parties including the Vice-Chancellors of the Universities, Deans of the Medical Faculties, representatives of the Government Medical Officers’ Association, further discussions were held regarding the proposed recommendations. The proposed new Committee has the responsibility of updating and implementation of the recommendations already made, while considering the facts presented in this meeting as well.

Therefore, I must kindly inform that a large number of steps have been taken by the government to solve this issue.

After giving due consideration to the steps already taken by the government and the proposed recommendations, if any party/parties feel that there are further issues to be dealt with, they are invited for further discussions. His Excellency the President requests the parents of the students of the government medical faculties and all other parties to extend their cooperation without resorting to sathyagraha, fasts or protests.

The President expects all students of the government medical faculties will take the above positive steps into consideration and will engage in their studies, for the sake of their future as well as the future of the country.

Acting Secretary to the President

The committee appointed by the President to implement the proposed solutions regarding the SAITM and to consider the other arisen issues:

The committee consists of:

Harsha de Silva – Deputy Minister of Policy Planning and Economic Development (President)
Mr Janaka Sugathadasa – Secretary to the Ministry of Health , Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine
Mr D. C. Dissanayake – Secretary to the Ministry of Higher Education and Highways
Mohan de Silva – Chairman, University Grant Commission
Colvin Gunaratne – Chairman, Sri Lanka Medical Council
Lakshman Dissanayake – Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo
Sampath Amaratunga – Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Jenifer Perera – Dean, University of Colombo
Nilanthi de Silva – Dean, University of Kelaniya
Observers (One representative each)

Government Medical Officers’ Association
Medical Faculty Lecturers’ Association
Medical Students’ Parents Association
Acting Secretary to the President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *