A new cabinet from Monday – Minister Rajitha

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The government of Sri Lanka is expected to have a new cabinet of ministers from Monday following the defeat of the no-confidence motion brought by the Joint Opposition against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Prime Minister Wickremesinghe comfortably defeated the no-confidence motion with a majority of 46 votes in the 225-member parliament on Wednesday strengthening his ruling United National Party’s hand within the coalition government formed with the President Maithripala Sirisena led Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

Co-cabinet Spokesman, Minister of Health Dr. Rajitha Senaratne said a new cabinet will be appointed on Monday (09) after some of the SLFP ministers in the unity government voted for the no-confidence motion against the Premier.

Addressing a media briefing at the parliamentary complex yesterday following the vote, Minister Senaratne said the cabinet ministers who voted against the Prime Minister will be removed from the cabinet.

However, SLFP ministers who criticized the Prime Minister but abstained from voting will not be removed, Minister Senaratne said.

Among the SLFP minsters who voted for the no-confidence motion are S.B. Dissanayake, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Susil Premajayantha, WDA Seneviratne, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, and Chandima Weerakkody.

Meanwhile, 33 UNP parliamentarian have signed a letter requesting the Premier to remove the cabinet Ministers who voted against him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *