Fresh cabinet by April 14

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –A new cabinet under the theme of ‘One Leader, One Program and One Government’ will be sworn in by April 14, Co-cabinet spokesperson Minister Rajitha Senaratne said yesterday.

He added that this would not be just another ‘reshuffle’.

Addressing the weekly cabinet media briefing at the Government Information Department, the Minister explained that some ministries would be restructured in a scientific manner but it would be difficult to do so for all.

The Secretaries to the President and Prime Minister, Minister Senaratne said were working together to restructure these ministries.

The main changes in cabinet however would take place in the portfolios currently held by the six SLFP ministers who voted against the Prime Minister at the recently held No-Confidence Motion (NCM), added the Minister.

He said the President had informed them that the six SLFP ministers had decided to leave cabinet and that their posts would be filled with six other SLFPers to form a new cabinet.

“Our stance has been that those who voted against the Prime Minister, cannot continue to remain in the cabinet”.

This week, SLFP Cabinet ministers boycott the meeting and according to Minister Senaratne, they had done so, in order to come to a collective decision on the way forward for the party.

The SLFP Central Committee is expected to convene this evening (11) and take a decision on what they will do as a group. We are awaiting their decision, he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *