Sri Lanka Police taken under President, all financial institutions to Finance Minister

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Sri Lanka’s new government has published the subject areas and functions of the Ministries in the gazette.

The assignment of Functions and Duties of the Ministers has been gazetted in the Extraordinary Gazette No. 2096/17 issued by President Maithripala Sirisena on 05th November 2018 with regard to the allocation of functions and duties and departments, state corporations for the new ministries.

According to the Extraordinary Gazette, Sri Lanka’s Police Department, which was under the Ministry of Law & Order, has been brought under the purview of the Ministry of Defense. President Maithripala Sirisena is the Minister of Defense and the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.

According to the gazette notification, 42 departments, statutory institutions and state corporations have been assigned to the Finance Ministry. During the last government, these institutions were under several ministries.

During the last three years, the Central Bank was not under the Ministry of Finance. It was given to the Ministry of Economic Affairs under the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The National Lotteries Board and the Development Lotteries Board were functioning under the Ministry of External Affairs. In addition, the state banks including the People’s Bank and the Insurance Corporation functioned under the Ministry of Enterprise Development.

Over the last three years, number of issues cropped up since these institutions which should be under the Finance Ministry, have been functioning under various ministries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *