Rees-Mogg demands no confidence vote against Theresa May

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The chairman of the hard Brexit-backing European Research Group has penned a letter to back-bench MPs calling for a no confidence vote in prime minister Theresa May.

Jacob Rees-Mogg, the chairman of the European Research Group (ERG), which is comprised of around 50 Conservative MPs in favour of a hard Brexit, has penned a letter to the head of the 1922 Committee Sir Graham Brady, calling for a vote of no confidence in Theresa May.

The move comes after the UK Prime Minister struggled to find support for her withdrawal agreement with the EU, with senior cabinet members including Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab and Work and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey resigning after being unable to back May’s plan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *