122 MPs’ Petition against Premiership taken before Appeal Court on Friday

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Petition filed by 122 MPs against Mahinda Rajapaksa holding Premiership will be taken before Appeal Court on Friday (30).

All 122 MPs – comprising members of the UNF, JVP and TNA – filed an application for a Writ of Quo Warranto against the former President, who was controversially appointed Prime Minister by President Maithripala Sirisena on 26 October. Legal experts have called the appointment an unconstitutional and illegal power grab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *