Bangladesh election: Sheikh Hasina wins new term as prime minister

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has secured her third consecutive term with a landslide victory, Bangladesh’s Election Commission said on Monday.

Her ruling party and its allies have won 288 of the 300 parliamentary seats, surpassing its previous election wins.

The opposition has condemned what it called a “farcical” election, marred by violence and claims of intimidation and vote rigging.

They won just seven seats and have demanded a new vote.

“We urge the election commission to void this farcical result immediately,” opposition leader Kamal Hossain said.

“We are demanding that a fresh election is held under a neutral government as early as possible.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *