A three member committee appointed to inquire Angunakolapelessa Prison incident

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – Minister of Justice and Prison Reforms Thalatha Athukorala has appointed a three-member committee to launch a special inquiry into the alleged attack on prisoners at Angunakolapelessa Prison on November 22, 2018.

The Minister ordered the Commissioner General of Prisons to start a special investigation on the Angunakolapelessa prison incident and the three member committee was appointed consequently.

According to the instructions of the Minister, a, three-member committee headed by the Commissioner of Prisons Thushara Upuldeniya has been appointed. Minister Athukorala has advised the committee to submit its report before Monday.

Minister Athukorala said further action will be taken in accordance with the committee report.

Meanwhile, Committee for Protecting Prisoners’ Rights today conducted a press conference and released a video revealing the assault on protesting prisoners by the police. Representatives of the committee denuded the authorities to punish the culprits who engaged in wrongdoings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *