The second special permanent high court opens

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The second special permanent High Court was opened this morning by the Minister of Justice and Prison Reforms Thalatha Athukorala.

The new court with a three member bench of judges was established at the No 1. Hall of the Colombo High Court in the Hulftsdorp courts complex.

High Court Judge R. Gurusinghe is the chairman of the second three-member High Court bench. Justices Shashi Mahendran and Amal Ranaraja are the other members of the bench.

The special High Court has been established under the Judicature (Amendment) Act to hear cases involving serious financial fraud and corruption.

The offences which can be tried by the Special High Court include bribery, breach of confidence, financial misappropriation, financial misuse, money laundering for terrorism, organized crime, and misuse of public property.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *