Sri Lankan President leaves for India to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena has left to India to attend Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony, state media reported.

After a landslide victory in Lok Sabha elections 2019, Narendra Modi is all set to take oath as Prime Minister of India for his second term today. The Prime Minister’s swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to be held at 7 pm Thursday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

Indian President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council in front of a large gathering of national and international dignitaries. About 5,000-6,000 eminent persons are expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Prime Minister Modi has invited the leaders of BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) countries, which include Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand and India.

MEA spokesperson Raveesh Kumar said President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister of Nepal KP Sharma Oli will attend the oath-taking ceremony. President of Myanmar U Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering also have confirmed their attendance at the event. A special envoy from Thailand will represent the country at the ceremony.

The Prime Minister has not invited the leaders of Afghanistan, Pakistan and the Maldives for the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *