(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The No Confidence Motion (NCM) brought against the Prime Minister, the Cabinet and the Government was defeated in Parliament yesterday by 27 votes.

The motion received 92 votes in favour and 119 votes against it.

The JVP, UFPA and SLFP MPs voted for the motion which had been debated for two days.

The TNA, UNP and its allies voted against the motion. The motion was submitted by the JVP to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya on May 21. It had been signed by MPs Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Vijitha Herath, Nihal Galappaththi, Sunil Handunnetti, Bimal Ratnayake and Dr Nalinda Jayatissa. Thirteen Parliamentarians including Duminda Dissanayake, S.B.Navinna, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Dunesh Gankanda, Douglas Devananda, Ashoka Priyantha and Shivashakthi Ananda and V Radhakrishnan were absent when the voting in progress yesterday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *