Outstanding Sports Personalities honoured with Presidential Awards

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The Presidential Sports Awards Ceremony was held under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the BMICH, yesterday (17).

At this ceremony, the players who excelled in various fields relating to sports from January 2017 to December 2018 received Presidential Sports Awards and, more than 50 outstanding sports personalities received awards from the President.

The award for Most Outstanding Sportsman of the year was given to Weightlifter Indika Dissanayake, who won the bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games and the award for Most Outstanding Sportswoman of the year was given to Boxer Anusha Kodithuwakku who won the bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games.

It is significant that the presentation of time awards to Sri Lankans who made the most substantive contribution or achieved success to Sri Lanka sports of that year during this ceremony, which was organized for the third consecutive year including Kreeda Prabha, Kreeda Bhushana, Kreeda Deshantara and Kreeda Rathna awards.

Minister of Sports Harin Fernando, Monitoring MPs of the Ministry of Sports, Parliamentarians Manusha Nanayakkara, Hector Appuhamy and Harshana Rajakaruna were also present on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *