Lanka to introduce free visa on arrival facility to 46 countries

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Sri Lanka will introduce the free visa on arrival facility to 46 countries with effect from August 1, said Tourism Minister John Amaratunga.

The Minister was speaking at a press conference at the Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo yesterday said that this facility was to be introduced in April but was satlled due to the easter sunday blasts.

however in a bid to encourage more arrivals Sri Lankan government has decided to offer the facility from August 1.

Minister said that initially China was not included for the free visa on arrival facility but now they too had been included along with Russia, India and some other countries.

Amaratunga said that almost all adverse travel advisories had been either been removed or have been toned down or relaxed except for Russia. I believe that Russia will tone down there advisory as and when the immergercy is removed soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *