Seven more schools to be added to the National School System

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Steps have been taken on the instructions of Minister of Education Akila Viraj Kariyawasam to convert seven provincial schools including Saranath Vidyalaya in Kuliyapitiya into national schools.

Steps have also been taken to convert Dimbulagala, Vilalaya Central College, Thopawewa Maha Vidyalaya, Divulankadawala Central College, Bakamuna Mahasen Maha Vidyalaya, and Polonnaruwa Muslim Central College in Polonnaruwa district, Uhana Maha Vidyalaya in Ampara and Henegama Central College, Gampaha into national schools.

These schools have been converted to national schools based on the criteria that must be met when schools under provincial councils are transformed into national schools.

Accordingly, the change has been made with the concurrence of the Zonal Director of Education, the Provincial Director of Education Governor of the Province and the academic and non-academic staff working in those schools.

With the seven schools added to the list of national schools, there will be 370 national schools in the education system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *