Gotabaya takes oaths as Sri Lanka’s 7th Executive President

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Gotabaya Rajapaksa took oaths as Sri Lanka’s 7th Executive President in Anuradhapura today.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was among those who attended the swearing in ceremony.

The Elections Commission yesterday declared Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa as the new President.

Elections Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya announced that Rajapaksa secured the highest number of votes and was elected President.

He said that the overall voter turnout at the election was around 83.73 percent.

Deshapriya said that Rajapaksa had secured 52% percent of the total votes which was 6,924,255.

He appealed to Rajapaksa to ensure the democratic process of holding elections on time is followed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *