Re-export of several spices prohibited

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The Ministry of Finance has taken steps to prohibit the re-export of spices such as Black Pepper, Cardamom, Cinnamon, Dry Areca Nut, Ginger, Mace, Nutmeg, and Turmeric.

The ban which was issued through a Gazette Notification under Commercial Hub Regulations in the Finance Act. came into effect at midnight (05).

Accordingly, the re-export of all relevant spices have been prohibited.

Furthermore, the steps have also been taken to regulate the production of highly competitive domestic industries, such as the manufacture of Incense Sticks, Kites, and Vesak Lanterns through the issuance of the 2nd Gazette Notification under the regulations of the Imports and Exports Control Act.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *