2020 first parliament session to convene tomorrow

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The Fourth Session of the Eighth Parliament will be ceremonially declared open tomorrow at 10 am under the patronage of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The President is scheduled to chair the inaugural meeting at 10 a.m and will present the policy statement of the new Government.

The President will adjourn the Parliamentary Session following the presenting of the policy statement.

Given that Article 70 (1) of the Constitution gives the President the power to rescind Parliament, the President decided to end the term of Parliament issuing a special gazette notification on December 2, 2019.

The arrival of the Members of Parliament will take place first followed by the arrival of the Speaker of Parliament Karu Jayasuriya, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and the Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayaka will welcome President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the main staircase of the Parliament building followed by hoisting of the National flag by the President.

Proceeding forth, the 21 gun salute will take place in honour of the President.

The President will be accompanied House of Parliament by the Serjeant-at-Arms, Deputy Serjeant-at-Arms, Assistant Serjeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker of Parliament and the Secretary General of Parliament where the session will be ceremonially declared open.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen + 17 =