Sri Lanka to enter into MoUs with four countries to promote tourism

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The Government of Sri Lanka is planning to enter into Memorandums of Understanding (MoUs) with four other countries for the promotion of tourism.

The government has received Cabinet to sign agreements with China, Iraq, Pakistan and Estonia. The government aims to sign MoUs with South Africa and Georgia in the future.

MoUs have already been signed with India, Thailand, Seychelles, Poland, Tajikistan, Malaysia, Australia, Russia, South Korea and the Philippines.

The Ministry of Tourism and Aviation says under the current situation in the tourism industry due to emergence of the coronavirus virus, the signing of contracts could be delayed.

According to the Ministry, some developed countries have also implemented programs to provide financial assistance through these MOUs. Sri Lanka could benefit from such agreements in the event of a global emergency. Many countries offer to help smaller countries that have agreements with them, the Ministry says.

Most of the tourist arrivals to Sri Lanka in the past were from India, China, UK, France, Germany, Australia, USA, Maldives, and Canada.

The government expects to promote Sri Lanka as one of the world’s leading tourism destinations. To this end the government also plans to appoint destination marketing and representative agencies centered around the top tourist attracting European countries and India, Middle East region, Russia and Ukraine.

It is also expected to implement tourism promotion programs proposed by the Sri Lankan missions in respective countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *