Commission investigating political victimization receives 263 complaints

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The three-member Presidential Commission appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to look into alleged political victimization of public servants during the period from January 8, 2015 to November 16, 2019 will commence proceedings today.

The Commission headed by the retired Supreme Court judge Upali Abeyratne has received 263 complaints so far, a spokesman said.

Starting the process of recording statements from the political victims, Rear admiral D.K.P Dassanayake is scheduled give evidence before the Commission today at its office in the premises of the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall.

The Commission will meet in the next two days 18th and 19th as well, the spokesman added.

The Commission is given time to submit its report to the President within six months. Complaints from several individuals including a former Navy Commander have been submitted to the commission. Complaints can be sent till 20th of this month.

The Commission is chaired by retired Supreme Court Judge Upali Abeyratne and comprises Retired Appeal Court Judge Daya Chandrasiri Jayatilleka and Retired IGP Chandra Fernando as members.

This Commission will investigate the political victimization of public servants at the Bribery or Corruption Commission, Police Financial Crime Investigation Division (FCID) and Police Special Investigation Unit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *