Constitutional Council approves President’s nominees for Monetary Board

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The Constitutional Council which met this evening has approved the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s nominees for the two vacancies in the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka’s (CBSL).

The Constitutional Council presided by the Chairman former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya has approved the President’s nominees former Central Bank Deputy Governor Dr. Ranee Jayamaha and industrialist-cum exporter Samantha Kumarasinghe for the Monitory Board.

Dr. Ranee Jayamaha, is the former chairperson of Hatton National Bank Plc. she is an Advisor to the President of Sri Lanka in Banking and a former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka from 2004–2009. Samantha Kumarasinghe is the Chairman of the Nature’s Beauty Creations Ltd. and Multichemi International Ltd.

Two members of the Monetary Board, Nihal Fonseka and Dr. Dushni Weerakoon, appointed during the previous government, resigned with effect from 31 May.

The five-member Monetary Board of the Central Bank comprises the Governor, the Secretary to the Ministry of Finance (ex-officio) and three non – executive members.

Currently Central Bank Governor Prof. W.D. Lakshman is the Chairman of the Monetary Board, and Treasury Secretary S.R. Attygalle is the other ex-officio member. In February, President’s Counsel, Sanjeeva Jayawardena, was appointed to the Monetary Board following the vacancy created by the resignation of Chrisantha Perera.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *