Online entry of new MPs’ details completed

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The online application to obtain biographical information of the newly elected members of the 9th Parliament was completed, Parliament Assistant Secretary General Tikiri Jayatilaka yesterday said.

The 223 gazzetted Members of Parliament have completed their online application, including the youngest MP Jeewan Thondaman to the most senior MP R. Sampanthan. The Parliament Secretariat introduced the ‘Online Registration System’ for the newly elected members of the 9th Parliament to submit their personal details to the Parliament Secretariat on or before August 15.

Two members of Parliament, the national list MPs of United National Party (UNP) and Our People’s Power Party, are yet to be gazzetted.

Former UNP MP Ravi Karunanayake said that the UNP Working Committee will meet next Thursday (20) to discuss the matter. “There is no such deadline. Constitutional provisions are there to take time on deciding the nominee,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *