Parliament to convene from September 8 to 11

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Parliament will convene from September 8 to 11, as decided by the Committee on Parliamentary Business, chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, yesterday morning.

The annual report of the Central Bank, the performance report of the Ministry of Finance and the mid-year fiscal report will be taken up for debate as an Adjournment Debate on September 8 as per the proposals made by the Government during the meeting.

Parliament will convene on September 8 from 1.00 to 6.30 pm. Nine regulations under the Excise (Special Provisions Act) and 10 notifications under the Excise Ordinance will be debated on September 9. On September 10, Six notifications under the Ports and Airport Development Levy Act, 03 regulations and 06 resolutions under the Customs Ordinance will be taken up for debate.

Parliament will convene onSeptember 9 from 1.00 pm to 7.30 pm and on September 10 from 10.30 am to 7.30 pm.

The Vote of Condolences on the late Arumugam Thondaman, Leader of the Ceylon Workers’ Congress and former Minister will be presented on September 11. The vote of condolence will be taken up from 10.30 am to 6.30 pm. Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and many Ministers and MPs will present their condolences on lateThondaman.

Leader of the HouseDinesh Gunawardena, Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella,Chamal Rajapaksa, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Prof. G.L. Peiris,Douglas Devananda,Wimal Weerawansa,Mahinda Amaraweera, Prasanna

Ranatunga,Mahinda Samarasinghe, Gayantha Karunatilake,Rauff Hakeem,Dilan Perera,R.M Ranjith Maddumabandara and Mano Ganesan were present.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *