COPA to introduce a mechanism to immediately report corruption and irregularities in State institutions

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The Committee on Public Accounts (COPA) chaired by (Prof.) Tissa Vitharana has discussed developing a mechanism to make way to immediately report corruption and irregularities in State Institutions when it met in Parliament Tuesday (06).

The COPA Chairman further stated that the forthcoming meetings will be open to the media at the meeting held in order to enlighten its members of the process of conducting COPA meetings henceforth.

The Chairman pointed out that the Committee should pay special attention to find the root causes of the issues highlighted in the audit reports. He further pointed out that in accordance with the powers vested in Parliament and the Committee, measures should be taken to resolve issues in the State Institutions and assess the finances provided by the Parliament its performances.

In expressing views, the Auditor General stated that special attention should be extended not only towards financial audit but also at the performance of institutions. He also pointed out that opening the committee to the media would facilitate the work the committee in a more efficient manner.

State Minister and the former Chairman of COPA Lasantha Alagiyawanna, mentioned that the Committee on Public Accounts of the 8th Parliament played a significant role. In further emphasis the former chairman stated an orderly mechanism to evaluate 844 state institutions was introduced and it is imperative to continue the same going forward.

He also stressed that the revenue earning institutions should be brought before the committee and inspected immediately.

Accordingly, it was decided to summon the Inland Revenue Department, Sri Lanka Customs and Excise Department before COPA on the 03rd, 04th and 05th of November respectively.

Speaking at the meeting the Assistant Secretary General of Parliament Tikiri K. Jayatilleke said that steps will be taken to strengthen the relationship between the Parliament and the Committees further. Adding to it he also stated that the Committee should focus on achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.

State Minister Dr. Sudarshini Fernandopulle, State Minister Prasanna Ranaweera, Tissa Attanayake, Niroshan Perera, Faisal Qasim, Ashok Abeysinghe, Buddhika Pathirana, Cader Mastan, Dr. Upul Galappaththi, Prof Ranjith Bandara, Prof. Harini Amarasuriya were present at the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *