Project to develop 160 roads in 160 electorates begins

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –On the occasion of the first full year of the tenure of President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa, Johnston Fernando, Chief Government Whip and Minister of Highways Sunday inaugurated the project to develop 160 roads in all the 160 electorates of the country.

The inaugural ceremony of the 160 Road Development Project in 160 electorates was held today (22) at the Kapuduwa exchange on the Southern Expressway.

Road development projects are being implemented throughout the country to mark the first full year of the tenure of President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa. The Provincial Road Development Authority will develop 100,000 kilometers of roads under the “Vision of Prosperity Building the Country” program.

Foundation stone was laid today to construct the Kapuduwa Interchange under the Southern Expressway Extension Project. Also the inaugural ceremony of a program to plant 2 million saplings on both sides of the road, on a concept of President Rajapaksa, was also held near the Kapuduwa Interchange

The Kapuduwa Interchange to be constructed by the Southern Expressway Extension Project will commence near the 130.6th km post on the Southern Expressway

With the construction of the new Kapuduwa Interchange, people traveling on the Southern Expressway will have easy access to the Matara-Hakmana Road. The cost of the project is 387.5 million rupees. It is planned to construct this and open it to the public within a period of six months.

Vehicles traveling on the Southern Expressway from Katunayake and Colombo can easily reach Kamburupitiya and Matara by exiting at the Kapuduwa Interchange. The distance from the new Kapuduwa Interchange to Matara is 6 km and to Kamburupitiya is 11 km. Vehicles traveling from Kamburupitiya and Matara to Colombo will also be able to access the Southern Expressway through this interchange.

In addition, the foundation stone was laid for the commencement of work on the road from Polatugoda Bridge to Pahalavitiyala Samagi Mawatha.

Road from Hatamuna Junction to Batuwita Urapola, Samapura Road from Kuda East Aparekka to Uda Aparekka North and Welihinda-Kotawila Road were opened to the public.

Minister Dullas Alahapperuma, State Ministers Nimal Lansa and Kanchana Wijesekara, Matara District Development Committee Chairman Nipuna Ranawaka, Members of Parliament and residents of the area participated in the events.

Meanwhile, development projects on several roads in other electorates were also initiated.

The development of the Ganegoda rural road in Mirigama at a cost of Rs. 5.8 million was started with the participation of Gampaha District Parliamentarian Kokila Gunawardena. Along with this road, 10 more roads in Mirigama are expected to be developed.

The carpeting of the Opatha-Nehela by-road in Minuwangoda was commenced under the patronage of Minister Prasanna Ranatunga. In addition, 121 roads are being developed in Minuwangoda Divisional Secretariat. The cost of the project is Rs. 32 million.

The development of the 3.5 km of the Kekiriwela road connecting Kaduwela, Navagamuwa and Batewela areas was also commenced today. The event was presided over by Minister Wimal Weerawansa.

Development work of 1.01 km of Undugoda-Nakadamulla Dedigamuwa road was commenced under the patronage of MP Premanath C. Dolawatta.

Athurugiriya-Sandasirapura Bodhiraja Mawatha and Pragathipura Sugathi Mawatha will also be developed at a cost of Rs. 68.5 million.

Hatton Kotagala-Kriswas Farm KGK road is also being carpeted and developed. The distance is 44 km. Minister of State Jeevan Thondaman and several others were present at the inauguration.

Steps have been taken to develop 127 rural roads In Batticaloa. Development of the main roads in the Kalavanchikudi Palukamam area was initiated under the patronage of Minister of State Sadasivam Viyalendran.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *