Virat Kohli and Ellyse Perry named players of decade by ICC

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –India captain Virat Kohli and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry have been named as players of the decade by the International Cricket Council.

Kohli has scored 20,396 runs in all international cricket in the 10 years covered by the awards.

Perry made 4,349 runs across all formats and took 213 wickets – the most of any player.

She was also named as the women’s ODI and T20 cricketer of the decade, having been part of five World Cup wins.

Australia won the 50-over World Cup in 2013 and the T20 World Cup in 2012, 2014, 2018 and 2020.

Kohli was also named as men’s ODI player of the decade.

Australia’s Steve Smith won Test player of the decade and Rashid Khan of Afghanistan won the T20 player award.

The awards were decided by a panel of former players and experts, as well as a public vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *