Children should be encouraged to get involved in sports from school days – PM

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) – The Ministry of Justice, the Judicial Services Commission, Ministry of Technology and the Information and Communication Technology Agency (ICTA) jointly launched a program today under the patronage of the Minister of Justice to digitalize the entire judicial system in Sri Lanka as envisioned in the President’s “Vistas of Prosperity and Splendor” policy.

Under this project, the entire judicial system of the country will be digitalized. It is planned to digitalize the entire judicial process including maintaining the files of the judiciary, managing the judiciary, keeping case records and issuing case reports, and payment of fines online.

The Memorandum of Understanding was signed 11.02.2021 at the Ministry of Justice to implement a comprehensive new program that will integrate the digitalization of the entire judicial system in Sri Lanka, despite the computerization of certain sectors in the past.

The first phase is expected to be completed in 2021.

The Information and Communication Technology Agency (ICTA) will oversee the technical operations, including the design, implementation and follow-up of the digitalization process. The security of the entire judiciary is ensured by including information and reports and case files in the Lanka Government Cloud. (Data Security)

The project will bring a number of benefits, including speeding up the judicial process, transparency and cost reduction. Judicial proceedings will also be notified to the relevant parties through SMS services.

The quality of the judiciary will also improve due to the favorable conditions available to lawyers, law firms, the government and other relevant parties. This will enable to advance the Doing Business Index internationally, which will increase investment attractiveness.

The study and procurement activities of the project is expected to begin in March. Local suppliers will be given priority and the initial funding will be provided by the General Treasury.

Ali Sabry, Minister of Justice, MMPK Mayadunne, Secretary to the Ministry of Justice, SS Somaratne, Secretary to the Judicial Services Commission, Jayantha de Silva, Secretary to the Ministry of Technology, Prof. Lalith Gamage, Chairman of the Information and Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka and a group of government officials were present at the signing ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *