ICTA successfully concludes e-Swabhimani 2020 celebrating digital innovation excellence

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Information and Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka (ICTA) the premier government institution driving the nation towards digital inclusivity, recently concludede-Swabhimani 2020, the national digital social impact awards which was organized with the aim of recognizing excellence in digital innovation. A total of 62 digital innovators were recognized at the awards gala.

The gala event was held at Hilton,Colombo in the presence of the Chief Guest, Mr. LalithWeerathunga, Principal Advisor to the President, Mr. Jayantha De Silva, Secretary to the Ministry of Technology and ICTA Chairman, Prof. Lalith Gamage

e-Swabhimani 2020 was held for the 10th consecutive year seeking to recognize and celebrate digital innovations with social impact adhering to local health guidelines. Since its inauguration in 2009, e-Swabhimani has groomed local talents empowering them to reach the global level whilst providing a platform for new digital innovations to emerge. Despite the challenging environment, e-Swabhimani 2020 had received a record number of entries, making way for healthy competition among contestants.

The winners were nominated for the World Summit Awards(WSA),to which ICTA acts as the national expert and who is mandated to carry out the national pre-selection process.Impressively the 2020 World Summit Award saw six of Sri Lanka’s seven nominations making it to the final round and we are pleased to say that one product secured as a winner under the Government & Citizen Engagement category.

Awards were presented under the categories: Government and Citizen Engagement, Healthand well-being, Learning and Education, Environment and Green Energy, Culture and Tourism,Smart Settlement and Urbanization, Business and Commerce, Inclusion and Empowerment, Digital Entertainment and Youth category.

Providing due support for fostering digital innovation and creating a digitally inclusive world,e-Swabhimani 2020 was sponsored by Huawei Technologies (Pvt) Ltd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *