Ajith Kumara Mannapperuma has been sworn in as a new Member of Parliament

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –Hon. A. Ajith Kumara Mannapperuma of the Gampaha Electorate was sworn in as a Member of Parliament today (09) before the Hon. Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

He then signed the member roll kept by the Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake in accordance with Standing Order 05.

The Elections Commission has decided to appoint Hon. Ajith Kumara Mannapperuma to fill the void given Hon. Ranjan Ramanayake’s vacant seat in Parliament.

The special gazette notification with his name as a Member of Parliament was issued yesterday.

He served as the Mayor of the Gampaha Municipal Council from 2002-2009 and represented the Western Provincial Council from 2009-2013.

In 2015, he contested from the Gampaha District under the United National Party and entered Parliament.
At the 2020 Parliamentary Election, he was elected to the 5th position in the Gampaha electorate from the Samagi Jana Balawegaya.

Receiving his education at Holy Cross College, Gampaha, Bandarawela Central College and Ananda College, Colombo, Hon. Ajith Kumara Mannapperuma holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree from the University of Moratuwa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *