Kuwait, UAE suspends travel from Sri Lanka and other South Asian countries

(COLOMBO, LANKAPUVATH) –The gulf countries United Arab Emirates and Kuwait have barred travelers from Sri Lanka and other South Asian countries as the COVID-19 pandemic is rapidly spreading in the region.

Kuwait has suspended flights, and barred entry to travelers, from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka until further notice to try to contain the spread of the coronavirus, state news agency KUNA said on Monday,.

The decision by the Gulf state’s cabinet did not include cargo flights.

To enter Kuwait from the four countries, people must have been in another country for at least 14 days beforehand, the statement said.

The United Arab Emirates will from Wednesday suspend the entry of all travelers, including transit passengers, from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

The UAE has already suspended flights from India, as coronavirus cases in the country spiked to global records.

Flights from and through the UAE and heading to the four countries will be exempt, the General Civil Aviation Authority said, the state news agency WAM reported.

The GCAA said that those coming from the four nations through other countries must stay in those third countries for at least 14 days.

UAE nationals and passengers in private jets are exempt provided they quarantine for 10 days and undergo PCR tests upon arrival and on the fourth and eighth days after entering the country.

Cargo flights will continue to operate between the UAE and the four countries.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *