Singapore to allow Sri Lanka travellers to enter country from Oct 26

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Singapore’s health ministry recently announced the resumption of travel from India and five other South Asian countries, including Pakistan and Bangladesh, from October 26. This move comes as the island-state continues to adjust border measures in response to the global COVID-19 situation.

The Health Ministry added that all travellers with a 14-day travel history to India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Myanmar, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka will be allowed to enter or transit through Singapore from the said date.

The Ministry, however, added that travellers from the said countries will have to undergo the strict quarantine rules. As per its statement, “travellers from these countries will be subject to Category IV border measures. They will still be required to serve their 10-day stay-home notice (SHN) at dedicated SHN facilities.”

The Ministry in its release added that it has reviewed the COVID-19 situation in the six South Asian countries it was previously closed off to.

While addressing a virtual press conference, in this regard, Singapore Health Minister Ong Ye Kung stated that the situation in these countries has been stabilised for some time. He added, “There is no longer a need for strict rules that prevent travellers from these countries from landing here.”

Earlier, Singapore allowed fully-vaccinated travellers from 15 more countries to enter the country, without having the requirement to undergo quarantine in dedicated facilities. These countries included Malaysia, Indonesia, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *