Sri Lanka to develop nine attractions as sustainable tourist destinations

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) –Minister of Tourism Prasanna Ranatunga says nine tourist attractions selected to cover all nine provinces of the country will be developed as sustainable tourist destinations.

The project is being implemented with the support of the United Nations Development Fund’s Biodiversity Financing Initiative.

Sigiriya Sustainable Destination, Pilikuttuwa Local Heritage Destination, Wanathawilluwa Gangewadiya Destination, Ellawala Ella Nature Destination, Vavulpane Limestone Cave Destination, Delft Island, Madunagala Hot Springs, Panama Village Villages and Mihintale are the nine destinations.

Meanwhile, promotion of Sigiriya and Yala National Parks as the first eco-friendly sustainable tourist destinations free of the use of plastics has already been started.

Achieving the Sustainable Development Goals is a program stated in President Gotahaya Rajapaksa’s Vision of Prosperity Policy Statement. Accordingly, this sustainable destination development will be implemented, the Minister said.

The relevant Provincial Tourism Authorities have already been entrusted with the responsibility of developing these sustainable destinations. The Minister states that they are already making the necessary arrangements for this.

Minister Prasanna Ranatunga pointed out that with the Covid epidemic, the eco-tourism industry has become more attractive to tourists and much attention is paid to this when approving tourism investments.

Accordingly, it is essential that proposals for future tourism projects be submitted for approval in accordance with the Sustainable Guidelines. The Minister also stated that an internal unit for sustainable tourism promotion and development will be established at the Tourism Development Authority in the future to assist in this regard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *