Sri Lanka to enter into joint tourism cooperation agreements with three countries

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Tourism Minister Prasanna Ranatunga says that Sri Lanka expects to enter into joint tourism cooperation agreements with three countries- Bangladesh, Cambodia and South Africa- soon.

The proposal to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Bangladesh was made during Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa’s official visit to Bangladesh in March 2021.

Accordingly, the relevant agreement has been drafted with a special focus on joint venture investment and marketing activities in the field of tourism.

On a proposal made by the Government of Cambodia, a Memorandum of Understanding on Tourism Cooperation will be signed between Sri Lanka and Cambodia, the Minister said. Cabinet approval has been obtained for this.

According to the Minister, a MoU is also planned to be signed with South Africa on a proposal submitted by the Government of South Africa.

In addition, Minister Prasanna Ranatunga pointed out that the Government is in the process of entering into Memoranda of Understanding with a number of identified countries to promote the tourism sector in Sri Lanka, adding that special attention has been paid to signing the MoUs with countries from where most of the tourists arrive.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *