China to donate three seismic centers to Sri Lanka

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Environment says that Sri Lanka will receive the coverage of 07 earthquake centers in the future.

The Minister said that People’s Republic of China has already agreed to provide three seismic stations to Sri Lanka free of charge. Accordingly, the number of earthquake centers in the country will increase to 7.

He has stated this at an awareness workshop on earthquakes and geo resources for journalists in the Kandy District. The workshop was organized by the Geological Survey and Mines Bureau.

The Minister of Environment said currently there are four seismic stations in the country located in Pallekele, Buddhangala, Mahakanadarawa and Hakmana.

He said one of the three new earthquake centers promised by China will be established in Western and North Western provincial boundaries.

“We receive all three seismic centers promised by People’s Republic of China as donations. We do not have to pay even a cent. Therefore, we will be covering 07 seismic stations in the near future. ”

Minister of Environment said a new program called ‘Let’s Listen to the Earth’ will be launched in the next two months to rehabilitate excavated sites as well as to manage land resources properly and the seismic study will be expanded as one of the steps.

GSMB Chairman Anura Walpola, Director General Sajjana de Silva and others were present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *