Expert committee appointed to advise the President’s Economic Council

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – An expert committee has been appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to advise the National Economic Council.

The 11-member National Economic Council has been appointed under the chairmanship of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to look into the economic crisis and the expert committee has been appointed to advise the council.

A panel of economists, including university professors has reportedly been appointed to the advisory committee.

President is the chairman of the National Economic Council and the members include the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Ministers Dr. Bandula Gunawardena, Basil Rajapaksa, Johnston Fernando, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Dr. Ramesh Pathirana, Governor of the Central Bank Ajith Nivard Cabraal, Secretary to the President Gamini Senarath, Secretary to the Treasury SR Attygalle, and Deputy Governor of the Central Bank Dhammika Nanayakkara.

This Economic Council is tasked with coordinating policy making in response to changes in the global economy, providing relevant advice to Ministries, Departments and Statutory Institutions, and provide guidance on behalf of the Government.

President’s Economic Council was criticized for consisting of top-level government politicians whose competency is not in economic policymaking and the absence of expert economists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *