Four Ministers appointed to maintain the Parliament and other matters of the country

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) –President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today (04) appointed four Ministers to maintain the legitimacy and stability of Parliament and other functions of the country until a full Cabinet is appointed, President’s Media Division said.

Four new Ministers were sworn in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat this afternoon (04).

These Ministers were appointed for the foreign affairs and finance and the need to appoint a Leader of the House and a Chief Organizer to maintain the Parliament.

Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena was sworn in as the Minister of Education and Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando was sworn in as the Minister of Highways.

Former Justice Minister President’s Counsel Ali Sabry was sworn in as the Minister of Finance, while Prof. GL Peiris was re-appointed as the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Leader of the House, Dinesh Gunawardena said the President made these appointments this morning to maintain government affairs until a full permanent Cabinet is appointed.

The President has already requested all political parties represented in Parliament to contribute to find a solution to the national crisis in the country. A permanent cabinet will be appointed after discussions with the political parties.

The President also sought the support of the people as a whole to overcome the economic challenge facing the country and to sustain the country, President’s Media Division said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *