Sri Lanka President appoints 17 cabinet ministers

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Sri Lanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today appointed 17 cabinet ministers for the administration of the government.

The new Cabinet ministers are currently being sworn in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo.

This is the third cabinet reshuffle under President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. While the new cabinet consists of eight former ministers, it will have a number of new faces.

On April 3, the entire cabinet of 26 ministers except Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa resigned from their respective ministerial portfolios amidst the worst economic crisis in Sri Lanka’s history.

On the next day President Rajapaksa appointed four Ministers to maintain the legitimacy and stability of Parliament and other functions of the country until a full Cabinet is appointed

Prof. G.L. Peiris and Ali Sabry, PC were sworn in as the Minister of Foreign Affair and Minister of Finance respectively. Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena was sworn in as the Minister of Education and Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando was sworn in as the Minister of Highways.

The full list of Cabinet Ministers appointed today:

Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government
Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries
Dr. Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Education and Plantation Industries
Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Public Security and Tourism
Dilum Amunugama – Minister of Transport and Industries
Kanaka Herath – Minister of Highways
Vidura Vickramanayake – Minister of Labor
Janaka Wakkumbura – Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation
Shehan Semasinghe – Minister of Trade and Samurdhi Development
Mohan Priyadarshana de Silva – Minister of Water Supplies
Wimalaweera Dissanayake – Minister of Wildlife and Forest Conservation
Kanchana Wijesekara – Minister of Power and Energy
Thenuka Vidanagamage – Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs
Dr. Nalaka Godahewa – Minister of Mass Media
Prof. Channa Jayasumana – Minister of Health
Naseer Ahamed – Minister of Environment
Pramitha Bandara Tennakoon – Minister of Ports and Shipping

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *