Basil Rajapaksa resigns as National List MP

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – Former Finance Minister Basil Rajapaksa said he has decided to resign from his Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) National List seat in Parliament.

Basil Rajapaksa said he has tendered his letter of resignation to the Secretary-General of Parliament.

Addressing a special media briefing today(09), Mr. Rajapaksa stated that he will resign from his post giving the opportunity to send a suitable member of the SLPP to Parliament.

He further stated that he will not withdraw from politics even if he resigns from the legislature.

The billionaire Businessman Dhammika Perera is tipped to be nominated as the SLPP national list MP to fill the seat vacated with the resignation of Basil Rajapaksa.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *