(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The Member States of the Colombo Security Conclave comprising India, Maldives, Mauritius and Sri Lanka, successfully concluded the 6th Deputy National Security Adviser level meeting held on 7 July 2022 hosted by the National Security Council Secretariat of India in Kochi. Delegations from Bangladesh and Seychelles participated as Observers.

Their Excellencies, Shri Vikram Misri, Deputy National Security Adviser, Republic of India, Mr. Ahmed Latheef, Foreign Secretary of the Republic of Maldives; Mr. Yoidhisteer Thecka, Principal Coordinator Security Matters, Prime Minister’s Office, Republic of Mauritius and General Shavendra Silva, WWV, RWP, RSP, VSV, USP, ndc, psc, MPhil, Chief of Defence Staff, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka led their respective delegations. The Secretariat of CSC in Colombo, Sri Lanka, was represented by the Acting Secretary Commodore M.H. Nishantha Peiris, RSP, USP, Director Naval Operations and Director of Naval Foreign Cooperation, Sri Lankan Navy. The delegation from Bangladesh was led by Lt. Gen. Waker Uz Zaman, SGP, psc, Principal Security Officer, Armed Forces Division while Seychelles was represented by H.E. Simon Archange Dine, Chief of Staff of Seychelles Defence Forces.

The participants discussed the implementation of the Roadmap for Cooperation for 2022-23 and the decisions taken at the 5th NSA level meeting of the Colombo Security Conclave on 9-10 March 2022 in Maldives on the following five pillars:

  • Maritime Safety and Security
  • Countering Terrorism and Radicalisation
  • Combating Trafficking and Transnational Organised Crime
  • Cyber Security, Protection of Critical Infrastructure and Technology
  • Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *