Ranil, Anura Kumara and Dullas nominated for President

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) –Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, National Peoples Power (NPP) Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake and MP Dullas Alahapperuma have been nominated for President, Parliament was informed yesterday(19).

The three names were nominated when Parliament convened today.

Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa today withdrew from the presidential race and decided to support MP Dullas Alahapperuma for the post.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Leader Dinesh Gunawardena nominated Ranil Wickremesinghe, MP Vijitha Herath nominated Anura Kumara Dissanayake and Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa nominated Dullas Alahapperuma.

The Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake announced the names of the nominees for President.

Parliament will meet tomorrow to elect a new President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *