UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe elected as the Eighth Executive President of Sri Lanka

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The members of Sri Lanka parliament today voted to elect acting President and Leader of the United National Party Ranil Wickremesinghe as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka.

The Secretary-General of Parliament Dhammika Dassanayake announced to the House that Ranil Wickremesinghe has been elected as the Succeeding President by Parliament by a majority vote.

The returning officer Secretary-General of parliament Dhammika Dassanayake announced that 223 members of Parliament voted for the three candidates Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, MP Dullas Alahapperuma and MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake while two MPs abstained from voting. Four votes were considered invalid.

Wickremesinghe received 134 votes against the 82 votes received by Dullas Alahapperuma. The Leader of National People’s Power Anura Kumara Dissanayake received 3 votes.

Accepting the Presidency, UNP leader thanked the MPs who supported him as well as the MPs who participated in the democratic process.

The 8th Executive President invited his opponents Dullas Alahapperuma and Anura Kumara Dissanayake as well as the Leader of Opposition Sajith Premadasa to join him for discussions to reform the political system and rebuild the country.

“We have to create a new strategy to move forward. People are demanding not the old politics. They ask the parliament carry forward the work in a united manner,” he said.

He said for 48 hours they were divided and the division is over now.

“The divisions among us is over. Now we all should unite and discuss. I am ready to discuss from tomorrow onwards,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *