New interim cabinet of ministers sworn in

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The new Cabinet of Ministers of the interim government under President Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn-in today at the Temple Trees.

President Wickremesinghe has decided to continue with the same cabinet ministers of the previous government of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Accordingly the 18 ministers sworn in today have been assigned the same portfolios they were holding under the previous President with one exception of the Foreign Affairs Ministry,

Ali Sabry, PC who was the Justice Minister and Finance Minister under Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s administration, has been appointed the Minister of Foreign Affairs. Prof. G.L. Peiris held this portfolio previously.

Meanwhile, Nimal Siripala de Silva, who held the position of Ports and Shipping Minister in the previous cabinet, has not been given a ministerial position in the new cabinet. Also, no one has been appointed to the position of Investment Promotion Minister held by Dhammika Perera and he has not been given a ministerial post either.

Accordingly, the ministries of finance, defense, investment promotion, children and women as well as ports and shipping in the interim government are under the President.

The Cabinet of Ministers of the new interim government is as follows:

1. PM Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

2. Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries

3. Susil Premajayantha – Minister of Education

4. Bandula Gunawardena – Minister of Transport, Highways & Media

5. Keheliya Rambukwella – Minister of Health & Water Supply

6. Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Agriculture, Wildlife & Forest Conservation

7. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe – Minister of Justice, Prisons & Constitutional Reforms

8. Harin Fernando – Minister of Tourism & Lands

9. Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Industries & Plantation Industries

10. Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Urban Development & Housing

11. Ali Sabry, PC – Minister of Foreign Affairs

12. Vidura Wickramanayaka – Minister of Buddha Sasana, Religious & Cultural Affairs

13. Kanchana Wijesekera – Minister of Power & Energy

14. Ahamed Nazeer – Minister of Environment

15. Roshan Ranasinghe – Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs & Irrigation

16. Manusha Nanayakkara – Minister of Labor & Foreign Employment

17. Tiran Alles – Minister of Public Security

18. Nalin Fernando – Minister of Trade, Commerce & Food Security

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *