Government has launched a program to establish financial stability of the country – President

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The government has embarked on a formal program to strengthen the banking system in order to establish the financial stability of the country, President Ranil Wickremesinghe said.

Emphasizing that he is in no way ready to turn Sri Lanka into a beggar country, the President stated that we as Sri Lankans must stand up with our own efforts and that the necessary program has been presented in this year’s budget.

The President mentioned this while addressing the function held Wednesday (23) at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall to commemorate the 86th birthday celebration of late Minister Lalith Athulathmudali.

Pointing out that Mr. Lalith Athulathmudali’s concept is a concept that can elevate Sri Lanka to the top of the international arena, the President further mentioned that he will establish a university named after Mr. Lalith Athulathmudali in Sri Lanka in the future for the study of post-graduate courses.

A digital space was also introduced at the occasion by the Lalith Athulathmudali Foundation to provide the Sri Lankan youth with the facility of independent access to the international market.

Addressing the birthday celebration, Chairman of Lalith Athulathmudali Foundation, former Finance Minister Mr. Ravi Karunanayake recalled that Mr. Lalith Athulathmudali introduced the Mahapola bursary system to fulfill the educational dream of the rural people.

Mr. Ravi Karunanayake mentioned that if Athulathmudali was alive, the system would have been formalized and taken forward. He also said that under the Mahapola Scholarship Program, he opened educational paths for the children of the country.

He pointed out that the children who were educated under Mahapola bursaries have accomplished a great mission for the country and mentioned that the digital space opened today was also created by the students who got education under Mahapola Scholarships.

Chief Sanghanayaka of Japan Ven. Palpola Vipassi Thero, Nugegoda Nalandaramadhipati Ven. Thaniawala Palita Thero, Sedawatta Mangalaramadithi Ven. Ambanwala Gnanaloka Thero, Former President Maithripala Sirisena, Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Ports and Shipping Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, Public Security Minister Tiran Alles, Labor and Foreign Employment Promotion Minister Manusha Nanayakkara, Minister of State for External Affairs Tharaka Balasuriya, Members of Parliament Rear Admiral (retd) Sarath Weerasekera, Rauf Hakeem, Ajith Mannapperuma, Harshana Rajakaruna and former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, United National Party General Secretary Palitha Range Bandara, UNP National Organizer Navin Dissanayake and others were present on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *