The Secretary General of Parliament informs the Election Commission that a vacancy has been created given the resignation of Mujibur Rahuman, member of Parliament

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The Secretary General of the Parliament, Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake has informed by way of writing to the Chairman of the Election Commission that the Member of Parliament representing the Colombo Constituency Mujibur Rahuman handed over his letter of resignation from his position as a Member of Parliament.

The Secretary General has also informed that according to the letter by Mujibur Rahuman, the above resignation will be effective from January 20th, 2023.

Accordingly, the Secretary General also informs the Chairman of the Election Commission that the seat of Mujibur Rahuman in the Ninth Parliament is vacant in accordance with Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act No. 1 of 1981.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *