India’s G20 Presidency: Bengaluru to host first energy transition working group meet on February 5-7

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – More than 150 participants from G20 member countries and nine special invitee guest countries such as Bangladesh, Singapore, Oman, UAE, Netherlands, Spain, Egypt, Nigeria and Mauritius will attend the first G20 Energy Transition Working Group meeting under India’s Presidency in Bengaluru from February 5 to 7, the Ministry of Power said in a statement on Monday.

Focus of working group’s discussion

During the three-day meeting of the Energy Transition Working Group, focus will be made on six priority areas and they include: (i) Energy transition through addressing technology gaps (ii) Low-cost financing for energy transition (iii) Energy security and diversified supply chains (iv) Energy efficiency, industrial low carbon transitions and responsible consumption, (v) Fuels for Future (3F) and (vi) Universal access to clean energy and just, affordable, and inclusive energy transition pathway, the Ministry added.

A high-level international seminar on “Carbon capture, Utilization and Storage (CCUS)” will be held on the sidelines of the Energy Transition Working Group meeting for which Karnataka will extend its support, the Ministry maintained.

The seminar will focus on highlighting the importance of carbon capture, utilization, and storage, considered vital for achieving net-zero targets, the Power Ministry statement said.

The event will also deliberate upon the challenging aspects of the clean energy transition and the role of CCUS in addressing them while examining various technological aspects of the value chain, from capturing to storage and utilization pathways.

This event will enable sharing of knowledge from successful initiatives that can be replicated across emerging economies.

Noted international organisations to attend the meet

The meeting will be also participated by leading international organizations such as The World Bank, Asian Development Bank, United Nations Development Program (UNDP), International Energy Agency (IEA), Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM), United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), International Solar Alliance (ISA).

The United Nations International Development Organization (UNIDO), United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP), RD20 and knowledge partners will be part of the meeting, the Ministry said.

India’s efforts to mitigate climate change will be showcased

As part of the first Energy Transition Working Group meeting, delegates will also visit Infosys Green Building Campus and Pavagada Solar Park to see first-hand India’s push towards renewable sector and efforts to mitigate climate change.

Rich cultural heritage of Karnataka will be showcased

The delegates will also get to experience the rich cultural heritage, art, culture, and cuisine of Karnataka. The Ministry of Power is the nodal Ministry for Energy Transition Working Group and will lead the discussions and negotiations on focused priority areas.

Under India’s Presidency, four Energy Transition Working Group meetings, various side events and a Ministerial Meeting have been planned.

India’s G20 Presidency will build upon the efforts and outcomes of previous presidencies, which have successfully advanced the cause of global cooperation in clean energy transition and have made it central to the agenda of sustainable economic development, the Ministry said.

Importance of Bengaluru

Bengaluru is known for its IT and Start-up hubs. The city has an abundance of industries from various technological fields such as IT services, software development, Cloud computing, Big Data & Analytics, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Robotics, Cybersecurity, Internet of Things (IoT), Blockchain, E-commerce, Mobile App development, Virtual & Augmented Reality, Gaming Industry, FinTech, Renewable energy, Electric vehicles, Drones & unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), 5G technology, aerospace, and biotechnology.

Bengaluru is also known for its top educational and research centres like Indian Institute of Science, Indian Institute of Management, Indian Institute of Technology, and National Aerospace Laboratories.


(India News Network)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *