New members for the Election Commission named

(LANKAPUVATH | COLOMBO) – The Constitutional Council has named five new members to the National Election Commission yesterday (22).

Parliamentary sources say that none of the commissioners of the current Election Commission are included among the members named for the new Commission.

According to the sources among the members nominated to the Election Commission are a former Legal Draftsman, a former Commissioner of the Election Commission and a former official.

Although members for other independent commissions were appointed by the Constitutional Council, the appointment of members for the Election Commission was delayed for some time as the opposition opposed the appointment of new members to the Election Commission when an election has been declared.

A senior official of the Parliament said the arrangements have been made to send the names of these five members selected by the Constitutional Council to the President soon.

Once the list of sent to the President, he will announce the appointments according to the constitutional provisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *